Ivan’s private site

January 22, 2008

Couperin, Duphly

Filed under: General,Links — Ivan Herman @ 19:35

The beauty of (classical) music is that after many years one can still discover new things, new pieces that, for various reasons, one has not heard before… The last in the line for me was the discovery of the keyboard music of François Couperin, thanks to a program on the French public radio channel, France Musique. More specifically, the record I discovered was a collection of some of Couperin’s keyboard pieces by Alexandre Tharaud. 19 different pieces, all very different from one another, and astonishingly modern and romantic. But the real novelty for me was a beautiful short piece, called “La Pothouïn”, of another French composer called Jacques Duphly. I must admit: this is the first time I even heard this name! So many things still to discover…

There is also a more personal aspect of this music. I have lost a dear colleague/friend about a year ago, who was a great fan of ancient music. This was really “his” music. I know he would have loved this recording…

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

